Abram Benedict re-elected Akwesasne grand chief

Abram Benedict, seen here in this April 2016 file photo, has been re-elected as grand chief of Akwesasne. He had 76 per cent of the vote in the election on Saturday, June 30, 2018. (Newswatch Group/Bill Kingston, File)

AKWESASNE – Abram Benedict has been re-elected as grand chief of the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne in a landslide win.

The unofficial election results show Benedict garnered roughly 76 per cent of the 980 votes cast in the First Nation’s general election today (Saturday).

Also elected are four district chiefs in each of the three districts. They are (vote totals in brackets):

  • Vince Thompson (219), Carolyn Francis (167), Edward Roundpoint (163) and Dennis Chaussi (131) in Kawehno:ke (Cornwall Island)
  • Tobi Mitchell (222), Connie Lazore (213), April Adams-Phillips (202) and Joe Lazore (193) in Tsi Snaihne (Snye)
  • Darryl “Kermit” Lazore (110), Julie Phillips-Jacobs (85), Tim “Dooley” Thompson (83) and Theresa Jacobs (73) in Kana:takon (St. Regis)

The unofficial results can be appealed by any eligible voter, in writing, by Thursday afternoon (July 5) and the Akwesasne Election Appeal Board will respond within two weeks.