Eastern Canada Cup hits the ice

CORNWALL – Nine teams are hitting the ice at the Benson Center over the next three days for the Eastern Canada Cup All-Star Challenge.

Four Cornwall Colts players – Grant Cooper, Nick Lalonde, Tanner Spink and Ross Craig – are part of the CCHL Robinson Division team.

The team is coached by the Colt’s Ian MacInnnis.

The balance of players on the team are from Carleton Place, Kemptville, Smiths Falls, Brockville and Hawkesbury.

There are two CCHL teams, four from the OJHL (Ontario), one from the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League (NOJHL), one from Quebec (LHJQ) and one from the Maritimes (MHL).

They will play a shortened game consisting of two, 20 minute periods.

The higher intensity matchup will to give scouts a better opportunity to pick out prospects.

The first game is tonight (Monday) at 6 p.m.

The championship game is Wednesday night at 7:30 p.m.

Tickets and passes are available at the Benson Center.

Thumbs Up(0)Thumbs Down(0)