Cornwall council sworn in tonight

(Newswatch Group/Bill Kingston, File)

CORNWALL – Cornwall’s council for 2018-2022 will be sworn in tonight (Monday).

The inauguration is taking place in Salon B of the Cornwall Civic Complex at 7 p.m.

Clerk Manon Levesque will be administering the oaths of office to the 10 newest councillors and Mayor Bernadette Clement.

The councillors are Todd Bennett, Eric Bergeron, Maurice Dupelle, Syd Gardiner, Glen Grant, Carilyne Hebert, Dean Hollingsworth, Elaine MacDonald, Claude McIntosh and Justin Towndale.

Local MP Guy Lauzon, MPP Jim McDonell, incoming SD&G Warden Jamie MacDonald, Akwesasne Grand Chief Abram Benedict, Massena Mayor Tim Currier and SD&G Highlanders Lieutenant-Colonel Christopher French are scheduled to speak.

There will also be performances by the Cornwall Sea Cadets and Holy Trinity Catholic Secondary School.