Akwesasne by-election in December

(Newswatch Group/Bill Kingston, File)

AKWESASNE – Akwesasne voters on Cornwall Island will be going back to the voting booth less than a year after the general election.

The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne has called a by-election for Dec. 22 for the District of Cornwall Island (Kawehno:ke).

It comes after the MCA received a petition for removal of District Chief Dennis Chaussi, which met the requirements of the Akwesasne Election Law. The reason for the district’s chief’s ouster is not clear.

A date for candidate nominations has not been announced.

There were 11 people who ran in June for the District of Cornwall Island in the general election. There are three other district chiefs still in place on Cornwall Island: Vince Thompson, Carolyn Francis and Edward Roundpoint.

Thumbs Up(4)Thumbs Down(2)