Benedict elected grand chief of Akwesasne

AKWESASNE – Abram Benedict is the new grand chief of Akwesasne.

Benedict received 477 votes in Saturday’s election on the territory, easily beating Brian David with 241 votes and Emmy Lazore-Mitchell with 300.

Abram has been a district chief since 2006, serving three terms on the Mohawk Council of Chiefs.

The four district chiefs for Cornwall Island will be: Vince Thompson (192 votes), Troy Thompson (188), Louise Thompson (168) and Dennis Chaussi (108).

In St. Regis the unofficial results are: Ryan “Duck” Jacobs (117), Steve Thomas (77), Darryl “Kermit” Lazore (71) and Tim “Dooley” Thompson (65).

In Snye, voters chose Karen “Buttons” Loran (232), April Adams-Phillips (188), Joe Lazore (170) and Connie Lazore (160).

The election results are unofficial until the appeal period is over.

Anyone can appeal the results until July 2 at 5 p.m. by handing in a written statement citing their reason under Akwesasne Election Law at the police station in St. Regis.

A swearing-in ceremony will happen at a date to be determined.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply