Cornwall tax pledge signers revealed

(Newswatch Group/File)

CORNWALL – Twenty-two candidates for Cornwall city council have signed on a Community Action Group pledge to “roll back” taxes if elected.

Those on the list are Davey Bedard, Todd Bennett, Roland Besner, Denis Carr, Pat Clarke, Maurice Dupelle, Brock Frost, Syd Gardner, Glen Grant, Mary Ann Hug, Greg Kielec, Rony Macarone, Mark MacDonald, Claude MacIntosh, David Murphy, Mike O’Neil, Denis Sabourin, Gary Samler, Gerald Samson, Geoff Stephenson, Justin Towndale and Stephanie White.

There are 29 running for city council. One of those who didn’t sign was candidate Guy St-Jean. He wrote an open letter to the CAG explaining his decision not to sign.

The only mayoral candidate to sign the pledge was, as of Monday, Jamie Gilcig.

In a release, the CAG says if voters pick six or more of the candidates on the list for council then council will work towards “rolling back property taxes.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply