CTC gives nod to youth for Spirit Award; names new president

Children's Treatment Centre AGM guest speaker Garth Callaghan, left, with Sarah Massia on June 10, 2015. Massia is the first youth to be given the Spirit Award for devoted service and commitment. Click photo to enlarge. (Cornwall Newswatch/Bill Kingston)

CORNWALL – For the first time in its 19 year history, the Children’s Treatment Centre has recognized a youth for commitment and devoted service.

Sarah Massia was given the Spirit Award during the CTC of SD&G and Akwesasne’s annual general meeting at the Best Western Parkway Inn.

The Cornwallite, who recently gradated from Queen’s University in Kingston and will be going back to the Faculty of Education this fall, has been a devoted fundraiser.

Vice President (now president) Don Fairweather described Massia’s adventure of participating in the 100 kilometer cycle challenge in 2012 and her start of helping the CTC as a Grade 6 student.

Between her organizational skills and the help of her friends, Massia was able to bring in more than $1,000 last year through a barbecue, bake sale and car wash and other events.

Another yard sale Saturday (June 13) at 1352 Mary Street from 7 a.m. until 3 p.m., will include a yard sale, raffle and bake sale and Sarah has enlisted the help of her younger brother, Jarrett.

“Sarah is using the opportunity to interest her brother in community service and together they’ve approached a number of businesses solciting prizes and putting up posters promoting this Saturday’s yard sale,” Fairweather said.

The AGM night also gave out plaques of appreciation to the various sponsors of the CTC.

The night also featured guest speaker Garth Callaghan and how his simple task of writing a napkin note and putting it in his child’s lunchbox transformed into a journey that would test his faith.

Callaghan’s ordeal came out in a book, “Napkin Notes”, in Oct. 2014 and will also be made into a movie by New Line Cinema on a date yet to be announced.

New president of the CTC for upcoming year

Don Fairweather was named president of the CTC for the upcoming year, taking over from long-time board member Rev. Gordon Bryant.

The rest of the executive is Vice President Johanne Lafrance-Cardinal, secretary Manon Tailleur, treasurer Claude Doth and board members Andy Graham, Rachelle Lalonde, Vincent Robinson, Lyle Van Allen, Peter Padbury and Roland Bissonnette.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply