Nominations still accepted for South Stormont Sports Hall of Fame

( via Newswatch Group)

LONG SAULT – Nominations for this year’s class in the South Stormont Sports Hall of Fame are still being accepted despite the ongoing coronavirus outbreak.

“Nominations deadline for the class of 2020 remain open until May 1st,” Parks and Recreation Director Kevin Amelotte told Cornwall Newswatch Tuesday.

As to whether the actual ceremony will happen in August, that’s still up in the air.

“The Hall of Fame executive are still reviewing options for the event that is scheduled for August 20, 2020 and will issue a press release when they make a final decision,” Amelotte added.

The ceremony normally takes place at the South Stormont Community Hall.

Inductees were done every year from 2006 until 2010 and then every two years after that.

The 2018 inductees were Carol Ann Baxter (Golf), James W. Connors (Harness Racing), Frank Helmer (Lacrosse), Steven Iwachniuk (Hockey), David Murphy (Hockey/Motorsport), Jim Riddell (Karate), David Tait (Hockey/Fastball), Jason Woodside (Fastball) and the Rothwell-Osnabruck 2001-2002 Senior Boys Basketball Team.

Cornwall’s Sports Hall of Fame has already cancelled its induction banquet, originally scheduled for Aug. 8. This year’s induction applications will be part of the “Class of 2021.”

Thumbs Up(0)Thumbs Down(0)