Rothwell-Osnabruck high school, S.J. McLeod will close

KEMPTVILLE – The Upper Canada District School Board has voted 8-3 Thursday night to close Rothwell-Osnabruck Secondary School.

The Ingleside grade 7-12 school was among the eight schools listed for closure.

Trustee Wendy MacPherson had put a motion forward to remove the school from the list, but that was defeated in a 6-5 vote by trustees.

Under the school board’s plan, students from R.O. will go to Tagwi Secondary School starting in September.

The other schools closing by September are Benson Public School, Plantagenet Public School, Rideau Centennial Elementary School and S.J. McLeod Public School.

Prince of Wales Public School, Wolford Public School and Oxford-on-Rideau Public School would close by September 2018. In Oxford’s case, it would be subject to making space available at South Branch school.

Trustees later voted 8-3 to approve the four schools for closure subject to provincial funding.

Those are North Stormont Public School, Maynard Public School, CCVS and St. Lawrence Secondary School (consolidated into a new Cornwall 7-12 school) and Toniata Public School (consolidated with Commonwealth Public School and Prince of Wales Public School in a new elementary school).