Reciting the oath; new Cornwall council to take their seat

(Newswatch Group/File)

CORNWALL – With a town crier and a piper at the Cornwall Civic Complex Monday night, the latest installment of city council will take their official place in office.

The inaugural meeting of council will start at 7 p.m. in Salon “B” in the lower level of the recreational facility.

A number of dignitaries are scheduled to make presentations including MP Guy Lauzon, MPP Jim McDonell, SD&G Warden Eric Duncan, Akwesasne Grand Chief Mike Mitchell, Massena Mayor Tim Currier and Steven J. Young of the SD&G Highlanders.

The mayor and councillors will make their declarations of office, promising to be faithful and impartial, to not receive money or reward for their duties and to bear allegiance to the Queen.

The oaths will be done by City Clerk Helen Finn.

Newcomers Brock Frost, Carilyne Hebert, Claude McIntosh, Justin Towndale will be joined by the returning Mark A. MacDonald after a four year absence.

Bernadette Clement, Maurice Dupelle, Elaine MacDonald, David Murphy and Andre Rivette were re-elected Oct. 27.

Newly-elected mayor Leslie O’Shaughnessy will also make his inaugural address to the public following the swearing in.

Bishop Marcel Damphousse of the Diocese of Alexandria-Cornwall will be conducting the innovation.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply