Akwesasne election date set

The 2012 District Council of Chiefs. Standing, from left, Karen Loran, Mike Mitchell, Joe Lazore, Steve Thomas, Abram Benedict, Brian David, Larry King and William Sunday. Sitting, from left, Louise Thompson, Florence Phillips, April Adams-Phillips, Julie Phillips-Jacobs and JoAnne Jocko. (Photo/akwesasne.ca)

AKWESASNE – Voters in Akwesasne will be going to the polls in June to pick their grand chief and district chiefs.

In accordance with the reserve’s election law, the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne has announced the date of June 27, 2015 for the General Election.

There is one grand chief, currently held by Mike Mitchell, and 12 district chiefs (four district chiefs in the three districts of Kanatakon, Kawehnoke and Tsi Snaihne).

Politicians in Akwesasne serve a three-year term.

In the June 23, 2012 election, Grand Chief Mike Mitchell was re-elected along with nine district chiefs:

  • Joe Lazore, Karen Loran and William Sunday for Tsi Snaihne
  • Larry King, Florence Phillips and Julie Phillips-Jacobs for Kanatakon
  • Abram Benedict, Brian David and Louise Thompson for Kawehnoke

There were three new members on the District of Chiefs in 2012: April Adams-Phillips for Tsi Snaihne, Steve Thomas for Kanatakon and JoAnne Jocko for Kawehnoke.

The population of the First Nation is around 12,000, according to the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply